Collaboration flourishes when work is visible and accessible. Nothing kills productivity and collaboration quite like teams working in silos.
If your team can’t see your work:
- Nobody will know how busy you are.
- Or what you’ve been working on.
- It will make collaboration very difficult.
- It can cause duplication (because it wasn’t clear that the task was already being worked on)
In Asana, tasks inherit the visibility settings of the project(s) they belong to.
Because of this…
⚠️ Any task that doesn’t belong to a project is private by default.
…meaning if you don’t add your tasks to projects, nobody will see them.
Here’s how it works:
A: Not added to a project — Only you can see it.
B: If the project is private — Project members will see it.
C: If the project is public — Anybody can see it.
As we all know, silos are bad for collaboration. That means transparency is important. Because of this, most tasks should generally be visible to your team/company.
Option C, therefore, should be your modus operandi (in other words, make it the default option).
Obviously, there are exceptions. For example, “Fire Bob for watching cat videos all day”.
✅ 1. Add every task to a project.
✅ 2. By default, set projects to “public”.
💡 Tip: You can quickly add tasks to projects using the keyboard shortcut TAB + P … (Think P for Project)
📝 Note: You can also click “Make public” at the top right corner of the task details pane here:
Try not to get in the habit of this though. Most tasks form part of bigger projects or departments. Because of this, it’s almost always better to have them accessible via the project view also.
Give it a try!